Wedding Cake Jitters

Decorating By whitleyjean Updated 8 Jan 2016 , 7:11pm by Apti

whitleyjean Posted 6 Jan 2016 , 2:29pm
post #1 of 15

Hi y'all,

I have a coworker that asked me to make her daughters wedding cake a few months ago. The wedding is in June. The problem is, I have never done a wedding cake. I am a hobby baker that enjoys making celebration cakes out of my home. The picture she sent me is the trendy cream rosette cake w/burlap decor. It doesn't look too complicated...if I could do it in my home. As time goes by, I am beginning to panick. I don't deliver, but this will require me to. I typically only make 1 layer cakes. I have made 2 layer cakes for my family only--so I know nothing about stacking and traveling. This will be at least a 4 tier cake--she wants it to feed 200. (When discussing logistics of the tiers rececntly after I inquired what her daughter wanted, she added, "Oh, we'll have a groom's cake too." I don't know if that means she is expecting me to do that too, or not. I don't have the bigger pans, so would have to invest in those. And I usually do a mixture of ermine frosting & buttercream. Do you frost it at the venue??? I am worried about having enough (I won't be able to cook on the spot at the venue if I need more), and also about it melting in the TX heat (although she said it will be inside, then moved outside to be cut--which still makes me nervous). How do you keep the burlap from getting oily? Help! I haven't even discussed pricing. Everytime I sit down to try and come up with a plan, it makes me think I need to just tell her I won't be able to do it. How do I let her down nicely & professionally?? TIA

14 replies
Webake2gether Posted 6 Jan 2016 , 2:59pm
post #2 of 15

If you want to opt out of doing the cake I would politely tell them that at this time you are unable to fulfill the cake for them and that you wanted to give them as much notice as possible so they can secure another baker for their cake.