Best Cake For Carving?

Baking By sweetcrunch Updated 10 Jan 2016 , 12:31am by joycetyler

sweetcrunch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcrunch Posted 2 Jan 2016 , 8:55pm
post #1 of 4

I need a cake that is good for carving, shaping, and sculpting. Some say a pound cake recipe is good. But what if I want to do different flavors like, (Chocolate, red velvet, etc). How would I put those flavors in a regular pound cake recipe. Also can I use any pound cake recipe in any size or shaping pan? How would I do all of this?

PS...Im a beginner  

3 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 3 Jan 2016 , 2:20am
post #2 of 4

so the idea is to start with something like a pound cake and learn as you go -- red velvet is usually crumbly prone to be a little more difficult keeping those crumbs in check -- baking carefully so it does not get dry -- so it just depends on which way you want to go -- using a pound cake first would be more user friendly but using red velvet first would test your newly developing skills and you might learn more --

this chart will give you pan sizes and batter amounts among other important things like number of servings

http://www.wilton.com/cms-wedding-cake-data.html

it all depends on what you want to do I made a topsy turvy cake, a sculpted gravity defying tier cake that was alternating layers of strawberry and red velvet filled with fruit filling -- 

so you just take it one step at a time starting with one thing and you'll step by step get enough experience to do the more difficult cakes  -- here's my favorite pound cake recipe

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/trisha-yearwood/cold-oven-poundcake-recipe.html

*Last edited by -K8memphis on 3 Jan 2016 , 2:23am
Showstoppers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Showstoppers Posted 3 Jan 2016 , 11:06am
post #3 of 4