Splitting Profits 50-50

Business By M3m3m3 Updated 4 Jan 2016 , 8:09pm by M3m3m3

M3m3m3 Posted 30 Dec 2015 , 7:25am
post #1 of 8

I have been baking for a couple years as a side business. I have been seeking a commercial kitchen for several months. 

There is a newer  cafe in my area that is struggling. I spoke to the owner about renting her kitchen off hours. She countered with me using her kitchen for free, supplying my own ingredients and we will split the profits 50-50. 

I will continue to take customs orders and grow my business and feel these items should not be included in any deal we make for her establishment. Only items sold in her cafe should be considered in any deal we make for "free" kitchen use

i have a wholesale price sheet worked up with the profit margin for my products between 35-40% for the cafe. Currently, they only offer prefab pie in a couple of flavors. I am offering a premium scratch product.

Since I am a newbie in this business, I would appreciate any thoughts or guidance.

7 replies
-K8memphis Posted 30 Dec 2015 , 11:07am
post #2 of 8

i would not hitch my star to a struggling new business -- this deal would not allow you much room to prosper -- in fact this caking business leaves very little room for anyone to prosper so splitting your profits would really cramp you up -- and you have to define 'profits' -- 

i would not take this deal -- look for something else

costumeczar Posted 30 Dec 2015 , 1:09pm
post #3 of 8