Please Help. Im New To Baking. Cake Edges Keep Going Hard

Baking By BabyBird21 Updated 23 Nov 2015 , 8:04am by Cakechick123

BabyBird21 Posted 19 Nov 2015 , 4:03am
post #1 of 6

im new to baking.

i began baking cakes because my mum loves those Mr Kippling Manor House cakes and i wanted to make a home made one for her birthday.

I copied the Mary Berry Cut and Come Again cake. its basically a fruit cake, i use sultanas in it

I have baked about 7 so far and apart from the very 1st one i made, they have all come out hard and crust around the outside of the top and around the outside of the bottom, the sides (apart from the edges) are fine though, which i find weird

I have tried a few things to solve this problem myself, which are;
- I have turned the oven down to a lower temperature and baked for longer
- I have doubled up the baking paper that i line the tin sides and bottom with
- I have moved the cake lower down in the oven
- I also cover the top of the cake after about 30 minutes when the cake top starts to brown slightly

please can someone give me some advice that works. My mum is having to waste quite a bit of the cake as she cant eat the top and bottom edges.

Thank you so much

and despite all this, im still having the same issue

5 replies
Apti Posted 20 Nov 2015 , 7:05am
post #2 of 6

Baby Bird~~Welcome to the forum.  Sorry you're having a problem.  Since this is an international forum, many of the members from the USA will have zero idea what the heck a Mr Kippling Manor House cake is, let alone how to make one from scratch.

You may be best served to create a new thread with the same information, but a new title.

Example:

UK Bakers:  Help with fruitcake-burned top/edges

Good luck!

RobertBarnett Posted 20 Nov 2015 , 8:35am
post #3 of 6