Marzipan Cake Covering

Decorating By SweetsByMelissa Updated 21 Nov 2015 , 5:48pm by chikki

SweetsByMelissa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetsByMelissa Posted 10 Nov 2015 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 7

Hi Everyone,

I am new to cake central and need some advice! I am a fondant cake maker and have recieved  and order for a cake covered in marzipan. I have never covered a cake in marzipan before.  

I would prefer to buy it but I can't seem to find it I have found a few rollout marzipans on google but I don't know anything about them and what kind is good? If it can't be bought does anyone have any good recipes?

Any advice much aprichiated!

6 replies
maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 11 Nov 2015 , 1:09am
post #2 of 7

Marzipan is not generally used as a finish covering on cakes--not even on fruitcakes, and certainly not on dessert cakes.  It's pretty heavy & oily.

With fruitcakes, it's used as rolled out panels to cover up the imperfections from fruits & nuts on the surface of the cake.  After that, the cake is covered in either royal icing with some glycerine added to make it easier to cut, or fondant/sugarpaste.

Colette Peters makes what she calls "marzifon", where she kneads together marzipan and fondant.  It makes a nice, pliable covering that is ivory.

3656755572_21b135708d_b.jpg

spantchr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
spantchr Posted 11 Nov 2015 , 1:21am
post #3 of 7

I have found marzipan in my local Shop Rite.  It is sold in a tube like cookie dough and found in the baking aisle.  I don't know anything about the quality.  This may not help if your cake is large, but it may give you a chance to work with it to see what you can do.  

Good luck

maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 11 Nov 2015 , 2:55am
post #4 of 7

If you want to use it for any reason, be careful of what you buy. Some people call marzipan almond paste, but it's not.  Almond paste is an ingredient in marzipan.