How To Clean Work Surfaces?!

Business By tessholly1 Updated 18 Nov 2015 , 9:31pm by CakeBlessed

tessholly1 Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 10:01am
post #1 of 14

I am a home baker and Im trying to get organised for my 1st visit from EHO.. I read somewhere that if you use dish cloths to wipe down work surfaces then they must be regularly cleaned (boiled) or you can use disposable cloths. I feel like antibacterial wipes aren't sufficient, so I use a food safe 'Dettol' spray and a cloth but Iv never boiled the cloths.. Should I be doing this and if so how do I go about it?! Any tips or opinions would be appreciated!!

13 replies
julia1812 Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 11:05am
post #2 of 14

Through them in the washing machine at 60 or 90'c together with your towels and bed sheets?

tessholly1 Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 12:06pm
post #3 of 14

Thank you.. Yes thats a good idea, but would I need to wash them every single day for them to be as clean as they should?! If so it seems a bit silly to do a full 90'c wash just for one cloth every night.. Especially if I don't have any other laundry to put in with it!!

costumeczar Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 12:56pm
post #4 of 14

I'd just use disposable ones.

tessholly1 Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 12:59pm
post #5 of 14

Disposable as in a packet of antibacterial kitchen wipes?

julia1812 Posted 7 Nov 2015 , 1:03pm
post #6 of 14

No, not every day! Buy a pack of 10 or so and then boil them once you are through.

johnson6ofus Posted 8 Nov 2015 , 8:00pm
post #7 of 14

I used a plastic wastebasket. Get two bundles of the cloths. As I use them, and they are wet, I drape them over the top edges of the wastebasket to dry (avoid mold). Once they are dry, I drop them in the basket and drape the next wet "used" on one the edge. Until I run out. Then I run the bleach/ sanitary/ hot cycle and wash them---- start over.