Problems With Cake Pops

Decorating By bellosoc Updated 21 Oct 2015 , 11:10pm by dooberbug

bellosoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellosoc Posted 20 Oct 2015 , 8:51pm
post #1 of 8

My cake pops keep cracking... I don't know why? I follow the advise to put your cake pops in the fridge before covering for 15 to 20 minutes but unfortunately after I finish the decoration of the cake pop I notice that they were crack. I don't know how to fix it because I am new at this any advise will be great. 

7 replies
Brookebakescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brookebakescake Posted 20 Oct 2015 , 9:21pm
post #2 of 8

It's hard to say for sure without seeing a pic, but I'd say that your cake pops are falling off the sticks.  Or slipping, and that's what's cracking them.  Make sure your pops aren't too big, that you put some chocolate or coating on the sticks before inserting in the pop, that they set up before coating, and that your coating isn't too thick so it doesn't stress your pops  

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 20 Oct 2015 , 9:32pm
post #3 of 8

Both the candy coating and the cake pop should be closer to room temperature according to this article...so that they don't crack! Try it and let us know!

http://www.craftsy.com/blog/2014/06/dos-and-donts-of-cake-pops/

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 20 Oct 2015 , 9:34pm
post #4 of 8

And, by the way, I think that craftsy class is free...at end of article.

bellosoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellosoc Posted 21 Oct 2015 , 4:34am
post #5 of 8

Thanks so much, I do put a coat of chocolate on the tip before putting it on the cake pop.  Maybe I am making them too big and heavy.

Snowflakebunny23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 21 Oct 2015 , 9:03am
post #6 of 8