Pricing

Baking By ShelleyMirm Updated 13 Oct 2015 , 10:56pm by costumeczar

ShelleyMirm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShelleyMirm Posted 13 Oct 2015 , 7:02pm
post #1 of 14

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to this and I'm still not sure how it all works and I'm also sure this topic has come up before.. I just started doing fondant cakes and selling them in June and I'm not confident in my prices, most of the time I feel like I'm selling myself short but when I try to charge more I worry it's too much! Does anyone have any advice? I'm from Connecticut too, I know where your located makes a difference in pricing. Attached are some of my cakes. 561d553aa9d8f.jpeg561d553b16c4d.jpeg561d553b52763.jpeg561d553c43079.jpeg561d553cb73e6.jpeg561d553d29589.jpeg561d553de9aab.jpeg561d553ea24d2.jpeg561d553f611b3.jpeg

13 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 13 Oct 2015 , 7:29pm
post #2 of 14

i love your stuff -- you should price as much or more than the best aka highest priced baker in your area --

however you have a copyright issue to decide on -- copyrighted items like some of your lovely work cannot be duplicated/sold without permission --

i should put a link in here right now for more information but i don't have one -- someone will have more info or you can do some searches on here -- popular topic

best to you 

jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 13 Oct 2015 , 8:02pm
post #3 of 14

Hi, Shelley. First off, you do very nice work. Maybe if you gave us sizes and what you actually charged for them, we might be able to help.

You've fallen into the same trap as so many we've seen...you got the cart before the horse.  Your pricing and policies should be firmly in place before you even discuss your first order. Like in January.