Pricing For A Beginner

Business By Shundie Updated 13 Oct 2015 , 2:22am by costumeczar

Shundie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shundie Posted 12 Oct 2015 , 2:07pm
post #1 of 15

I am an amateur baker and I recently made this  cake for a "friend" and is curious how much would you charge for it...

this is the first 4 tier cake i ever baked...It has cream cheese frosting and the orange layers are filled with strawberry filling. thanks for your input...

561bbf7124acc.jpeg

*Last edited by Shundie on 12 Oct 2015 , 2:10pm
14 replies
Snowflakebunny23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 12 Oct 2015 , 2:16pm
post #2 of 15

Wow.  I can't say how much I'd charge because I don't really work with buttercream but I can say that you have done a better job than a lot of paid decorators I've seen.  Pretty good for your first 4-tie! Well done :-) 

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 12 Oct 2015 , 3:21pm
post #3 of 15

Is that a 6-8-10-12" tier combination? I'd charge around $600-650 before tax and delivery, but you need to figure out how much your materials cost and how much your time is worth before you set prices.

Shundie Posted 12 Oct 2015 , 5:13pm
post #4 of 15

Thanks so much!! @Snowflakebunny23  

@costumeczar  yes that's the tier combinations. WOWWWWWW.... i am always scared because, like i said i am an amateur and Im always timid about giving pricing because i am scared they wont like the cake or the taste. I am so not charging enough. Thank you so much for the eye opener.

costumeczar Posted 12 Oct 2015 , 6:33pm
post #5 of 15