How To Make A Princess Cake In An Hours Time?

Decorating By julia1812 Updated 8 Oct 2015 , 8:49pm by Annie8

julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 8 Oct 2015 , 11:31am
post #1 of 10

Well...If you can...good for you. Because I CAN'T! 

Made 36 princess cupcakes on Wednesday with fondant crowns, sceptors and ruffle princess dresses as topper. 

Same late afternoon the mother of the young lady calls me in a state of panic telling me there were no cupcakes left over after school (you bet!) and her girl wants a princess cake...NOW. She would come in an hour to collect it. Me - sort if thinking she's joking - go like...eh, an hour is a bit short notice... She replies 'okay, let's say two hours then'.

I'm a hobby baker...one woman show. I make my cakes, buttercreams, fillings and fondant from fresh and from scratch. How on earth do people come up with bull*hit like that? I didn't even know what to reply...my first instinct was to burst out laughing... second was anger.

So went shopping this morning (was out of sugar, can you imagine!) and quickly put together a doll cake. Even that simple cake took me 4 hrs!

Had to rant...sorry. But now that it's dine I feel I have to get that out. Didn't even explain her why and what as I feel it's a waste of time. Obviously that lady never baked a cake in her life.  Otherwise she would have known better, wouldn't she?

*Last edited by julia1812 on 8 Oct 2015 , 11:40am
9 replies
Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 8 Oct 2015 , 11:46am
post #2 of 10

I've had many people call me over the years with requests like that.  One guy used to call regularly wanting a cake in 2 to 3 hours, even though I always turned him down.  One question I've gotten is, "Don't you keep a frozen cake or two on hand for emergencies?" to which my reply was always no and that I baked each cake as ordered, not weeks or months in advance anticipating someone needing one in a emergency.