Cake Prices-I Think I'm Under Charging And Customers Are Complaining I'm Too High. Am I?

Business By flavorfavors Updated 27 Sep 2015 , 2:27am by costumeczar

flavorfavors Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flavorfavors Posted 26 Sep 2015 , 12:22pm
post #1 of 11

I'm just starting out my main focus is sugar cookies, but I've gotten a lot of request for cakes. So I decide that I would offer it. Because its something I love but I'm still learning the trade so far I've only made cakes for my kids. So it makes me a little nervous but I figure I got to start somewhere.

I came up with this price list for basic designs and said more detailed cakes would be higher Rounds Double layers about 4 in high 6 in $25 buttercream w/ fondant details $35 all fondant 8 in $35 buttercream w/ fondant details $45 all fondant 10 in $45 buttercream w/ fondant details $55 all fondant 12 in $55 buttercream w/ fondant details $65 all fondant

If stacking and additional charge of $15 for 2 tiers or $20 for 3 tiers Giant Cupcake $35 Rectangle/Square Double layers about 4in high 9x9 $45 buttercream w/ fondant details $55 all fondant 1/4 sheet (9x13) $55 buttercream w/ fondant details $70 all fondant

I have a current inquire about a cake like this http://butterheartssugar.blogspot.com.au/2013/03/pastel-peppa-pig-cake.html#.VgaL0bkXBkc

I quote her $85 for a 1/4 sheet or for a 10in round $70 Am I too high?

10 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 26 Sep 2015 , 12:39pm
post #2 of 11

you are anywhere from less than a dollar to maybe two dollars per serving -- that's often how price is determined -- on a per serving basis -- so figure out the industry standard servings per this wilton chart for each size:

http://www.wilton.com/wedding/wedding-cakes/wedding-cake-data.cfm

and then multiply by the price you want to receive for each serving -- for me it would start at  $4 or $5 per serving -- so the 10" cake would be about $200 -and serve about 40 give or take --