New Business Opportunity.

Business By fabfour Updated 21 Sep 2015 , 1:24pm by amartin1900

fabfour Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fabfour Posted 17 Sep 2015 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 5

I have been doing cakes out of my home for 10+ years. I'm not commercially licensed, but the health inspector knows I do this and take a food safety class every 2 years. She does want me to be licensed but we have an ordinance within our county that as long as I consider it a hobby it is fine. I probably should be licensed. We were going to enclose our garage last year after talking to the health inspector, but after seeing what all we had to do in the garage it didn't make financial sense. I had a guy (that we know very well) come to me this morning. He has a building that use to be a restaurant and has decided that he wants to open it back up. This time only have 2 employees (one to cook and the other to work the counter) kind of like a fast food type setup. Only breakfast and lunch, close at 1:30. He wants me to do my cakes up there (not to sell in the restaurant) but for me to have my commercial kitchen. The "rent" I would have is to supervise the 2 employees and make sure they are being honest and doing their jobs. Even said I could get my kids to school then go in and leave when it closed if I was done with cakes. He just wanted to know if I was at all interested and said we would iron out details later. Some the questions I have are Does this sound too good? and a question about weekend orders. Right now I have people pickup on Sat and Sun but I'm at home. I don't want to go to work on the weekend just for pickup. I would need Sat for wedding deliveries. How do you all do it?

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 17 Sep 2015 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 5