Satin Ice - Big Disappointment

Decorating By VS Sweet treats Updated 29 Sep 2015 , 4:25am by jessicake

VS Sweet treats Posted 16 Sep 2015 , 6:43pm
post #1 of 9

Sorry to bother all of you cake artist but I just need to say everything I've been through with this poor product. I am in this cake decorating business for 2 years and I've been baking cakes and other deserts since I was 13 years old. I have never been so disappointed at a product as I am with SATIN ICE fondant. I was told to try this product for the first time because it was WAY better than wilton or other fondant you can find in local stores like Michaels or Bulk N Barn. The first time I tried this product I bought 2 big pails of white fondant, and I color it with green gel color, the result was a piece of S***, it was cracking and tearing all over, impossible to wok with. I called satin ice customer service and the answer they gave it to me was to buy the pre color fondant instead of coloring it. For me that was a con Nº 1, so basically Satin ice is not designing their products to be flexible to work with other products, you will need to spent a lot of money is you need to work on a cake with multiple colors (of course that will increase the cost of your cake and your customer will not be happy). The second time, I helped a friend to decorate a cake for her daughter's first year, the cake was a ladybug cake so she bought red and white colors, so it was suppose to be "easy" for us to work with. For this time I watched tutorials and read forums and blog like this, in order to see how do you work with Satin Ice and also called Satin Ice customer service again and asked for some tips and suggestions. I did everything they suggested me to do, knead the fondant in small quantities and set them apart in zipploc bags and then rolled the whole amount over a silicone mat with a very thin layer of shortening in order to avoid the fondant to stick on it of the roling pin. Once the cake was covered the fondant bega