My First Wedding Cake And I Need Help!!!!

Baking By doctorwhobaker Updated 11 Sep 2015 , 4:29pm by -K8memphis

doctorwhobaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doctorwhobaker Posted 10 Sep 2015 , 9:16pm
post #1 of 7

Hello, this is my first time using cake central and I am very excited :)

Anyway I am making my very first wedding cake and I need some help on flavor combinations and recipes. The bride wants a 3 tiered, 'naked cake' (google the term and examples will come up). She isn't very picky but she definitely wants to have peach jam in it. The middle tier will be chocolate cake with vanilla bc and strawberry jam for filling. But its the top and bottom tiers that I am worried about.  They will be vanilla cake with vanilla bc and peach jelly for filling.

Should I use white cake or just classic vanilla cake? Can someone recommend a recipe?

She made the peach jelly and it's a bit runny. What should I do about that? 
Thanks so much!! smiley.png

6 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 Sep 2015 , 9:47pm
post #2 of 7

think of it this way -- who would willingly use a runny filling in their cake? 

answer: no one 

if I made the jelly i would cook it down till it was nearly waterless ad very thick and tasry --- so it didn't run and a little could go a long way and you could do this with that but i would not use it at all myself -- uh ugh i don't need to willingly create a problem for myself -- just say no --

but what is your relation to the bride are you being paid for this?

not to mention the contrast between the dark and light colored cakes is a design element that will need some work to make it nice looking 

*Last edited by -K8memphis on 10 Sep 2015 , 9:49pm
-K8memphis Posted 10 Sep 2015 , 10:01pm
post #3 of 7