Template Or Cake Press Available?

Decorating By Sboucher Updated 8 Sep 2015 , 9:03am by Shockolata

Sboucher Posted 8 Sep 2015 , 12:35am
post #1 of 4

I have to do a wedding cake in a few months for a family member. They have picked a cake that has royal piping all over, some of it resembles paisley. I have never done it before. So my question is, is there a template that you use or a cake press?

PS. I am new here how can I add a picture for you all to see what I am talking about? Thanks!

3 replies
Amps.prkns Posted 8 Sep 2015 , 12:43am
post #2 of 4

Irk about the picture thing/ I'm pretty new as well. But about the cake, the do sell stencils you could press royal icing into but it won't looked like you piped it. If you mean more of like what kind of pattern you can do, you could just search for pasley patterns online and get ideas from that. They also sell silicone mats you can buy with pasley patterns and use gumpast or sugar veil .. But piping with royal icing will look different so if that's what you're looking for then that's the way to go. Hope I understood your question. 

goldiesgoodies Posted 8 Sep 2015 , 12:54am
post #3 of 4

Print out the design you are looking for and place a piece of parchment paper over it and trace it with the royal icing. Once it hardens you can lift it off the parchment and place on the cake. I usually only do buttercream cakes so this technique works for me, I have not tried it on fondant covered cakes. 

Shockolata Posted 8 Sep 2015 , 9:03am
post #4 of 4