First Complaints

Business By rr2sweet Updated 8 Sep 2015 , 10:22pm by -K8memphis

rr2sweet Posted 7 Sep 2015 , 5:30pm
post #1 of 11

I've been baking for a hobby for 3 years for family and friends, but just started a business about 2 months ago. I just got my first customer complaints yesterday. I sent her a pic of a cake(not my work) and said I could do something similar. When I say that I assume I have some creative reigns to change things around. She asked for a pic the night before and she said the color doesn't look anything like the pic so I apologized and offered $5 off. Since I already started adding decorations. Then she told me it was to boringso I added more to it. Then when I delivered I forgot one of the toppers at home which was totally my fault so I offered $10 more off. So I lost $15 and I was barely charging anything for it anyways. So My question is what do you do in situations like this, do you immediately offer money back or just apologize? And have you made mistakes before like forgetting toppers and such?

10 replies
Jinkies Posted 7 Sep 2015 , 5:44pm
post #2 of 11

Well, look at it this way, you learned a lot from this one cake.

I would say- 1. Don't ever send a pic of someone else's cakes and tell a client it will look like that.  It's very difficult to copy someone else's work.  2. Don't assume anything.  Always ask your client if they want to give you artistic license and make sure it's in writing if they agree to it.  3.  You need to get yourself more organized because forgetting a cake topper is no bueno.  Cake toppers are usually the focal point of the cake and the reason people pay extra for custom.

Don't beat yourself up but do take some time to get organized and research cake business practices and pricing because $15 off should not leave you with nothing.