Cottage Food Law And Pricing You Cupcakes / Cakes Comparing To My Old Job

Business By karenamr95 Updated 2 Sep 2015 , 11:39am by -K8memphis

karenamr95 Posted 2 Sep 2015 , 3:35am
post #1 of 2

Im not sure how to go on Pricing 

There isnt really any cupcake places around me except two

i dont know one pricing but there was a horrible cupcake/ cake place i used to work at..

and it was very very expensive almost 4-5 dollars for a ugly cupcake covered in candy and gooped with duncin hines frosting on top which she told everyone it was ganache

she made horrible cakes  and iknow i can do way better i was going to base my pricing off of hers but i honestly have more cake decorating skills just because of me practicing and watching countless hours of videos 

i guess id say i am self taught.

i also learned alot from all the girls i worked with they made beautiful cakes when she actually let them.

but i dont want to sell cupcakes with bunch of candy and stuff on it i want pretty simple cakes 

i was thinking of having a set price of 25$ a dozen for simple cupcakes and going as high as 35 for ones with cupcake toppers

and cakes i thought 6 inch would start  at 15 

8 inch would start at 25 for simple  easy designs

and fondant start at 35 depending on detail,materials and estimated time i would take

would that be good 

my old job used to charge 70$ for a choclate chip 8 inch cake..... 

but that more in the highclass area and im in the average class area.

but i also dont want to sell myself short,I want to be fair with prices since  i grew up basically broke and i feel like everyone should have a cake that doesnt cost so much.

I am also pretty fast when it comes to cake,I used to hear that if you wanted to work as a grocery store  cake decorator you had to decorate a cake in under 15 minutes so i use to time myself at work and see how fast i could get a whole cake done until i had the 15 minute mark :)

1 reply
-K8memphis Posted 2 Sep 2015 , 11:39am
post #2 of 2