How Many Types Of Buttercream!!

Baking By hep275 Updated 14 Sep 2015 , 2:24pm by sugarbirdcakes

hep275 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hep275 Posted 30 Aug 2015 , 7:58am
post #1 of 22

Hi, I am a new hobby baker in the UK - just making cakes (only a few) for friends and family and until I starting reading posts on this site I had never realised just how many types of buttercream there were...I have always  made what I think is possibly referred to as American buttercream - just butter and icing sugar - (confectioners sugar in the USA?) with a little bit of flavour like vanilla extract added.  Looking through some of the buttercream related posts on here I have gone to another web site and seen something called flour buttercream which i like the idea of but wanted to check as it seems to not contain any icing sugar - is that right?  I want something less sweet to use as a topping on cupcakes, in bigger cakes and as a crumb coating - dont really want to faf around with making meringues like it seems you need to for some of the other types.  Does anyone else use flour buttercream and is it suitable for use as a 'general' buttercream ?

21 replies
Brookebakescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brookebakescake Posted 30 Aug 2015 , 8:28am
post #2 of 22

Hello! I haven't tried the flour bc yet, but as an avid fan of imbc, I suggest you try it! I think the taste is well worth it, as well as its versatility!

Shockolata Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shockolata Posted 30 Aug 2015 , 9:19am
post #3 of 22

I think it is unfair to call it a flour buttercream as it is a custard-based buttercream. Flour sounds so off putting! You are right, though, it does not contain icing sugar. It contains normal sugar which melts over the fire and creates a smooth consistency. And the amount of sugar is way below what you would use for American buttercream which makes it even more appealing. Let us know how you fared with it and if possible, put a pic to tempt us :)