Total Beginner, Wanting To Make A Chess Cake And Not Sure Where To Start? Help Me Please!

Decorating By like-a-daydream Updated 30 Aug 2015 , 6:03pm by fundant1

like-a-daydream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
like-a-daydream Posted 28 Aug 2015 , 9:43pm
post #1 of 8

I would consider myself a pretty competent baker, but I've never attempted any proper cake decorating really before now. I want to make my boyfriend (who loves chess) a chess themed birthday cake (his birthday is two weeks from tomorrow), and I just have a few questions beforehand. 

My plan is to bake a cake about ten inches round, in three layers made like this

http://d3w5aos35qel1w.cloudfront.net/img/checkerboard-cake-large.jpg

I've never attempted this, however I'm pretty sure I can handle that bit myself, though if anyone has any tips on that it would be greatly, greatly appreciated. I want to cover the cake in ganache, as he doesn't like 'icing' (butter icing and thick layers of fondant, I think). I would however like to include some sort of fondant chessboard design on top of the cake, either just a pattern of nine squares, or maybe a circle cut out of a chess board pattern, however I just have no clue how to do this bit. So basically, my questions are:

1) Do I need to crumb-coat the cake before I put on the ganache? And if so, how do I do this? what is best to use?
2) How can I logistically create the chess board top section? Is it best just to cut out squares and lay them directly onto the cake and abandon the round idea? Or is there a way to join the fondant squares before I place them on the cake so I can cut a circle out of it?
3) is there anything I can use instead of fondant for the topping section that is less sweet but equally as usable, just to ensure my boyfriend actually likes it?

Thank you so so very much for reading, I'm planning on doing a practice run next weekend so I'll be sure to update with how it goes.