Cheesecake Business

Business By Bitts-cakes Updated 27 Aug 2015 , 5:04am by johnson6ofus

Bitts-cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bitts-cakes Posted 25 Aug 2015 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 11

I am in the process of beginning my own cheesecake business. Currently, I am in the stage of trying to determine how much to sell my cheesecake for. Any advice? It costs me about $14 to buy ingredients for one original cheesecake. Baking time is an hour, while prep and clean-up time is about 45 minutes. I do offer shipping so I also have to determine a standard shipping fee. For most cheesecakes, 9 inches is going to be my selling size, but at request I can also make 6", 8" and 10". Most business in my area of Ohio, sell their cheesecakes for anywhere from$25-$80, with a set standard shipping price. I am completely new at this, and a college student, so any advice would be helpful. Thank you

10 replies
Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 25 Aug 2015 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 11

I have a friend here in my small eastern KY town who operates her own custom cheesecake business.  Her cheesecakes are 10 inch and sell between $40-$50 depending on the flavor.  She supplies a lot of local resturants as well as selling retail to the public, though I don't believe she ships her cheesecakes.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 25 Aug 2015 , 5:23pm
post #3 of 11

because you are a college student and are not sure how to price your wares i'm going to venture a guess that you haven't done the homework needed to determine the legalities involved in shipping cheesecake which is a highly hazardous food --

so if I'm wrong i'm wrong no worries but otherwise you need to research this for your specific location -- it's an education in itself -- start with your health department--

best to you

Bitts-cakes Posted 25 Aug 2015 , 5:29pm
post #4 of 11