Transferring An Image/outline To Fondant

Decorating By hep275 Updated 27 Aug 2015 , 10:06am by Shockolata

hep275 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hep275 Posted 23 Aug 2015 , 1:21pm
post #1 of 8

Hello, I am a newish hobby baker and after some advice..........I'd like to make a hunger games cake for my eldest daughter's birthday in October and have seen a youtube tutorial where  Ann Reardon makes a mocking jay for the top of a cake - there is a link to a template to use for the mocking jay on her site but I cant work out what sort of material she has made the template from - can anyone help?  I do find I struggle with transferring images I want to copy to fondant as I have used tracing paper and photographic paper but neither seems to work well for cutting round - is there a decorator's secret I am not aware of??!!

Here's a link (hopefully) to the tutorial and the bit I'm referring to is about 3 mins 50 seconds in -

7 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 23 Aug 2015 , 2:41pm
post #2 of 8

Oh, cool cake. Am sure she'll love it. Okay, I won't use fondant to start with. Way to soft in my opinion. For things like that topper, I would mix some gumtex/ cmc with the fondant (about 1 tsp per pound) or make a 50:50  fondant gum paste mix. 

I've made and used looks of templates. I use paper or parchment. Trace the outlines and cut. Then I place the template on the rolled out fondant  (*mix*) and trace/cut the outlines again with a scalpel knife. Peel the paper off an let fondant dry.

But in your case you have to slightly work on it before drying since I can see relief like feathers etc.

Good luck and post a picture of your finished cake please. 

hep275 Posted 26 Aug 2015 , 3:48pm
post #3 of 8

Thank you.  Her birthday is in October so I have some time to work on the mocking jay!!  not sure what gumtex is but would i be ok mixing 50/50 modelling paste with the fondant? 

p.s. Dont know what I did wrong to get 3 pictures included!!