Leaf And Vine Decorations

Decorating By Elizabeth68 Updated 2 Sep 2015 , 10:59pm by cupcakemama3

Elizabeth68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elizabeth68 Posted 15 Aug 2015 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 15

I am making a wedding cake for a friend's daughter.  I am just a home baker, but have made wedding cakes before.  The bride would like buttercream icing with a gold leaf and vine design.  I am going to need to make and paint (gold luster dust) a million leaves and am concerned with time management.  The only mold I have is the Wilton cherry blossom mold that has a few leaves and a few branches.  Does anyone know of a larger mold or a way to make multiple leaves and vines quickly?  I will need to use fondant so that I can paint them gold.  Any ideas are appreciated!!

14 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 15 Aug 2015 , 7:14pm
post #2 of 15

http://www.globalsugarart.com/search.php?q=leaf+plungers

just think of it as so many cookies you're cutting out that you don't have to bake -- roll out a big sheet of fondant and keep it covered with press & seal -- have small plastic containers handy to toss/hold them in so they don't dry out till you can get them formed the way you want -- it's easy and quick --

and you can hold them in the containers for several hours but probably not overnight unless you separate them with waxed paper or parchment or something -- but the few hours is enough to make a ton and have enough time to arrange them so they dry leafy like --

edited to put in a more inclusive link

edited again to add this one that doesn't appear in the first link

http://www.globalsugarart.com/small-curved-leaf-cutter-set-by-ateco-p-23120.html

so do some digging if you don't see the plunger set you like but see in one swoop you get the shape and the imprint -- easier than easy peasy -- you got this

*Last edited by -K8memphis on 15 Aug 2015 , 7:20pm
Norcalhiker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile