Fake Cake Question

Decorating By idahospaz Updated 17 Aug 2015 , 10:57pm by idahospaz

idahospaz Posted 10 Aug 2015 , 2:15pm
post #1 of 8

I am making my first fake cake (fondant covered dummies) which is what a friend's wants for their wedding.  My question is -- how far ahead of time can I cover the dummies in fondant.  I've never done this and not sure if they dry out and crack or if they staying looking ok.  It would be nice to get these done ahead of time, but I still want them to look nice. 
Also, I'm making a real cake for the top tier.  Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

7 replies
Cali6422 Posted 10 Aug 2015 , 2:58pm
post #2 of 8

idahospaz  ... I'm just a beginner, but can tell you I recently covered dummies with fondant about 2 1/2 weeks before I entered them in a contest, and they were fine.  There was no cracking and they didn't look dried out.  I had even airbrushed them with really vibrant colors and they didn't even fade in that time frame.  Of course I kept them out of the light and in a cool room ... But all was good.

jenner28 Posted 10 Aug 2015 , 3:10pm
post #3 of 8

I covered a dummy back in march and still have it because they are holding up my figurines (see my profile picture) and it still looks fine! it's hard because it dried but its not cracked and still looks fresh

-K8memphis Posted 10 Aug 2015 , 4:47pm
post #4 of 8

just make sure the ants, mice and other little lovelies don't want to come in for a snack -- the ants here this year have been incredible -- and they are the tiniest honey-i-shrunk-the-kids-size ants I've ever seen -- but they are everywhere -- in cars even and  at church -- they love our outdoor furniture --