Sinking Cakes

Baking By Momofsns Updated 7 Aug 2015 , 3:49pm by MacsMom

Momofsns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momofsns Posted 7 Aug 2015 , 3:23am
post #1 of 6

I'm not a professional baker. I've tried 3 different chocolate cake recipes but they all sink in the middle. 

Could anyone please give me a chocolate cake recipe that doesn't sink?  I'd really appreciate it. My daughter's first birthday is coming up and I'd love to make her first cake.

I'm looking for a recipe for two 8" round pans.

TIA!!

5 replies
MarisParis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MarisParis Posted 7 Aug 2015 , 3:36am
post #2 of 6

It sounds like maybe the cake isn't baked completely through?  Or maybe the oven door was opened too soon before the cake was finished.  And a great recipe for vanilla or chocolate cake is the WASC recipe - google it!    Good luck!!

http://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/7367/amazing-chocolate-wasc-cake

Norcalhiker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norcalhiker Posted 7 Aug 2015 , 5:18am
post #3 of 6

Baking can be complicated and challenging.  But with practice and knowledge it can successful and very rewarding.  

Marisparis is correct that an underdone cake can cause a collapse.

Other common causes of cake collapse are:

Too much liquid to flour (eggs count as liquid)

Too much of one or more tenderizers: 
Tenderizers are sugar, leavenings, egg yolks, emulsifiers (fats), and chocolate. 

Other causes include over mixing and/or too low oven temperature. 

Flour and egg whites are the two main ingredients that bring structure to a cake. If there is too high ratio of tenderizers to flour & egg, the cake will collapse. 

Assuming you are using a standard butter cake recipe, look at the ratios.  Ratios are determined by weight--not volume. 

Four 100% (flour is always 100%)
Sugar 100% (in high ratio cakes, =/> than flour)
Fat 45%
Eggs 40%

Leavenings are a bit tricky, but a pretty standard measure is 4 grams (1 tsp) per 120 grams (1 cup flour)