Cake Disaster.. I'm So Embarrassed

Business By tessholly1 Updated 8 Aug 2015 , 8:12pm by lily2

tessholly1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tessholly1 Posted 2 Aug 2015 , 11:02am
post #1 of 8

Hi all,

I feel so unbelievably awful right now, I made a cake to be collected today it was all ready and boxed before I went to bed last night. This morning when I went to check it the whole thing had 'leaked' ..now I'm no professional but I can only imagine my cake was to moist?! It was lemon sponge with lemon cream cheese frosting and I stupidly crumb coated in the same frosting as I completely forgot to make ganache for some reason!! Anyway it was seeping sugary juice from the entire bottom of the cake and so with 2 hours until pick up and a very unhappy 1 year old running round I managed to patchwork it all back together but I HATED it!! I felt so embarrassed to show my client although she seemed genuinely pleased with it.. I know I could have done 10x better and I just can't get over the fact that Iv let such a terrible cake leave my kitchen!! I'm also worrying that with all the 'leaking' the cake might even taste bad now to?! I haven't yet had to face a complaint about my work and I don't know if I could cope if this ended as one!! I'm being very dramatic I know but I'm on such a low I feel like I might as well give up on cake altogether :( so I just wanted to vent and hopefully someone might relate!

7 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 2 Aug 2015 , 11:39am
post #2 of 8

Hi there, I understand how you feel. But please please don't think of stopping what you love doing. I am pretty sure it will taste delicious regardless what happened. I have few years of experience but I still do make mistakes and learn something everyday. So you are not alone.

jchuck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jchuck Posted 2 Aug 2015 , 12:10pm
post #3 of 8