Modeling Chocolate

Baking By flawless1 Updated 1 Aug 2015 , 11:00pm by flawless1

flawless1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flawless1 Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 6:01pm
post #1 of 3

I am new to baking and just attempted to make modeling chocolate. It started melting after I rolled it out so I refrigerated it so it could firm back up. After I finally got it rolled out and put it on the side of the cake it started melting again.  I used water to attach it to the cake.Is there something that I can add to the chocolate to keep it from melting? I made the chocolate last night around 8 pm and refrigerated it. I took it out of the fridge this morning around 10 am (I didn't melt the chocolate in the microwave I used a double boiler). Please tell me what I did wrong. I made all of these recipes but only tried to cover the cake in the dark chocolate. 

Thanks

Dark Chocolate Modeling Paste:

7 ounces (200 grams) bittersweet chocolate, chopped

1/4 cup (60 ml) light corn syrup

Semi-Sweet Chocolate Modeling Paste:

7 ounces (200 grams) semi-sweet chocolate, chopped

3 1/2 - 4 tablespoons light corn syrup

White Chocolate Modeling Paste:

7 ounces (200 grams) white chocolate, chopped

1 1/2 - 2 tablespoons light corn syrup

Milk Chocolate Modeling Paste:

7 ounces (200 grams) Milk Chocolate

2 1/2 - 3 tablespoons light corn syrup

2 replies
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 7:44pm
post #2 of 3

I believe your corn syrup ratios are too high.  Most recipes for modeling chocolate call for 1/3 cup corn syrup to 10 ounces of chocolate/candy melts/whatever.  I've found that my best results come from using 24 ounces of chocolate to 1/2 cup corn syrup (or 12 ounces chocolate to 2 ounces corn syrup).