Disaster Cake

Business By plcharles Updated 2 Aug 2015 , 3:38am by rowantree

plcharles Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 2:17am
post #1 of 21

So I've been making cakes for about 20 years and today I had my very first disaster cake. I feel just horrible. Its been very hot and humid here and even though I had my car AC on fill blast, my 14" rehearsal dinner cake broke. First time in 20 years I couldn't deliver what was ordered. I spent almost an hour at the site trying to fix it, no go. I wouldn't even bring it in. Customer asked if I had "anything" I could bring. So I ran back and decorated a couple of smaller cakes and ran back to the site. Did I mention how bad I feel? The bride to be was beyond gracious and asked if I'd be able to recreate the cake and bring it to the reception. Anybody else out there had a disaster cake?

*Last edited by plcharles on 1 Aug 2015 , 3:08am
20 replies
costumeczar Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 3:55am
post #2 of 21

It happens to everyone...I had one that slid once before I refrigerated everything, but it was fondant so it was kind of crooked with the top layer slid off-center. That was because of a combination of heat and slippery strawberry preserves filling with the cake being at room temperature when I delivered it. We disguised it with the flowers, then the MOB complained that the color was wrong and didn't notice the sliding. (The color was right, I had a swatch to show her.) I've heard of people using the most secure support systems have a piece fall off the cake, or whatever...It's usually heat-related. I started refrigerating everything before delivery and that eliminated any problems

plcharles Posted 1 Aug 2015 , 4:59am
post #3 of 21