Where Do I Start Getting A Job??

Business By katel Updated 3 Aug 2015 , 2:39pm by Honey6983

katel Posted 31 Jul 2015 , 5:49pm
post #1 of 7

Hi,

I am ready for a career change but am not sure how to go about it. I have been a teacher but have always loved baking and cake decorating. I do it for friends and family and I've been told that I am pretty good. I would love to get a job in a bakery and learn more. I have taken all the Wilton classes and loved them. Our local college offers a "pastry" certificate but I was told that that may not be worth the time and money.

How do I enter into the cake world? What training should I get and how?? I would love some advise . I'm a 46 yr old mom of an 8 yr old in school with a husband who works crazy long hours.  I'm trying for follow my dream but not sure if my schedule will allow me to. I really need to work while in school. Help!! 

Kate 

6 replies
BritRo Posted 2 Aug 2015 , 4:23pm
post #2 of 7

Hello and welcome to the baking world!

I would possibly try starting a small business from your own home, doing lots of online advertising via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. I also notice that a lot of local home bakers use an app called OfferUp to advertise their cakes and other baked goodies. I think working at home would be best since you're practically your own boss and make your schedule. 

As for working in someone's bakery, I would write up a resume and bring in a little portfolio of the cakes and other goodies you've made to show the owner/manager your work.

BakersLife Posted 2 Aug 2015 , 4:32pm
post #3 of 7