Dealing With A Disappointing Cake. How Do You Get Past It?

Lounge By CoinUK Updated 31 Jul 2015 , 3:22am by bubs1stbirthday

CoinUK Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 4:59pm
post #1 of 27

So I did a cake and I'm really disappointed with it. 

I'm just an amateur home enthusiast and I know not all cakes are going to come out right, but so far I've been generally happy with the cakes I've done for people up until this one.

It was "just" for a friend at work and I only ever ask for the money to cover the ingredients. I'm happy to do the cakes as I just love doing them, so I don't ask for anything else for them.

thing is, this is the first time I've done a cake where the decorating has been a disaster. Every single thing I tried to do with it just went badly. It was a basketball LA Lakers cake for a Lakers fan here in the UK. The colour of the basketball was wrong, no matter how much colouring I added to it. The basket I made looked amateurish and like something designed by a 5 year old.

I tried to make the Lakers logo out of fondant and no matter how many times I tired, it just wouldn't work so I ended up settling for the just the L shape and even that was poor. The fondant I use is great for covering a cake and tastes lovely, but is just soooo damn soft it's dreadful for any kind of modelling work. I left a piece out by mistake and after an hour was still ridiculously soft so whenever I tried to cut it with the template, it just pulled and tore.

Overall, I'm seriously unhappy with how the cake looked and felt embarrassed to give it my friend.

So, how do I get past this? I feel really let down with it all and want to chuck all my baking stuff in the bin! Has anyone else felt like this after making a cake for a friend or a customer? 

26 replies
Jinkies Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 27

First off, I guarantee you, it's not as bad as you think.  And, yes, we've all been there.