Just Wanting Some Helpful Critisism.

Decorating By Krymson Updated 27 Jul 2015 , 10:22pm by Jinkies

Krymson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krymson Posted 26 Jul 2015 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 10

Well I cannot figure out how to flip the picture but anyway.

I made this cake for my daughters 3rd birthday. I'm just asking for some helpful critisism and tip to make better. I'm fairly new to cake making.55b4e91c36542.jpeg

9 replies
reginaherrin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reginaherrin Posted 26 Jul 2015 , 4:09pm
post #2 of 10

I think the only thing you need to work on is the design.  Each of the tiers is level and no bulging and the fondant is perfect on them.  As far as the design, I think the biggest thing for me is color, there is so many different shades of blue which would be fine if the overall color of the cake was white but the top and bottom tier is yet another shade of blue.  Also, the blue on the top and bottom looks like it may have been painted which I would have just used colored fondant or just done white.  Lastly, I would have moved the characters around so that they are not just piled all together on the top. 

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 2:35am
post #3 of 10

The cake is quite good.  The only elements are small ones which are mostly in the "eye of the beholder".   You've definitely gotten all the "important" issues down.   The biggest thing I noticed immediately is that your photo has background clutter, and you can see the Wilton turn table.

Cake Photos--Easy, cheap way to get great, clean photos:
http://www.wilton.com/forums/messageview.cfm?catid=8&threadid=159822&forumid=1   

Although you can go to great lengths to perfect the art of photographing your cakes, the method above will allow almost instantaneous improvement in your cake photos for under $10.

Well done! 

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 27 Jul 2015 , 5:00am
post #4 of 10

Awesome cake. Congrats.