Tiered Cake Deconstruction/issue

Decorating By mccantsbakes Updated 21 Jul 2015 , 4:23pm by SquirrellyCakes

mccantsbakes Posted 20 Jul 2015 , 7:02am
post #1 of 15

Hi group!

i have been doing cakes for a few years, so I am not a total novice when it comes to cake stacking.   I am a dowel/fat straw stacker and I tend to work more with fondant covered cakes than buttercream.  (Although I can see my issue pertaining to both mediums)

Today I delivered a three tiered cake for a family birthday.  Nothing out of the ordinary.  Cakes were cold when stacked, travelled with 2 stacked and added the top tier at the location.    Everything was FINE.   The cake was indoors, however it was blazing hot outside and the house was above room temp (I would venture around 80 indoors, above 100 outside, cake was in kitchen which was close enough to the constantly opening door to catch a smidge of the heat that came in with each open)  the cake sat for about 3 hrs at this temp.  It held up like a dream.

But, when I went to deconstruct the tiers for cutting, I had a hell of a time removing my middle tier from the bottom tier.  My fondant had basically glued itself to my cake board from my middle tier.   Once I was able to get the middle tier off, it pulled all the fondant and icing with it....leaving in it's wake a perfectly ugly circle of naked cake.    Crap.   Never had THAT happen before.   Ooops. My bad.

so I am wondering, what should I do to avoid something like this from happening again? Is there a magical secret that I missed in stacking 101 where there is a nifty barrier that prevents the fondant from a lower tier from adhering to the above board?  I have NEVER had this happen before so it threw me for a loop big time.   This time I was lucky, I was there to cut the cake......I would be mortified if I wasn't there to salvage the aesthetics of the cake for service......god bless family and their low standards for cake aesthetics.