Cake Disaster Help!

Decorating By Queensweet Updated 16 Jul 2015 , 7:16am by Snowflakebunny23

Queensweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Queensweet Posted 15 Jul 2015 , 7:49pm
post #1 of 5

This is my first time completely covering a cake in fondant (MMF). I've used fondant before and I've watched the craftsy tutorial on how to cover a cake, but this is a total disaster. I frosted the cake with my usual buttercream and got it as smooth as possible. Sadly this batch of MMF has loads of bubbles for some reason but I decided to go ahead and use it to cover the cake because I will be attaching pieces that I figured would mostly hide it.  I rolled it out and got it on my cake and could tell right away it was mushing the frosting, even though I'd rolled it very thin. I went ahead and tried to smooth it, even though my corners are no longer sharp at all, and now there is a massive air bubble forming. What the heck do I do and why is this all happening?! 

4 replies
Brookebakescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brookebakescake Posted 15 Jul 2015 , 8:00pm
post #2 of 5

I'd say the first problem is your frosting isn't hard enough. Did it have enough time to get hard/crust?

Queensweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Queensweet Posted 15 Jul 2015 , 8:03pm
post #3 of 5

I did give it time to crust but for some reason this time it didn't crust as much as it usually does. Does this mean I need to add more powdered sugar? That it's not a stiff enough icing?

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 16 Jul 2015 , 3:49am
post #4 of 5

What makes icing crust is more sugar to fat ratio.  Usually that is created by using less fat to begin with.  Makes for a much tastier icing.  Try the "2 of everything icing" recipe that can be found on this site.

Snowflakebunny23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 16 Jul 2015 , 7:16am
post #5 of 5