Outdoor Festival (Show) How-To's

Business By SandraDee73 Updated 15 Jul 2015 , 5:58pm by SandraDee73

SandraDee73 Posted 15 Jul 2015 , 1:01pm
post #1 of 4

I've tried searching through the threads and it's so difficult to find what I'm looking for, so I apologize in advance if this topic was already discussed in depth, which I'm sure it has. 

I was contacted yesterday about doing an outdoor festival to showcase my business. It's 3 1/2 weeks from today. I've never done a booth before. It will cost me $150 and I have 3 cakes (not related to the festival) to do between now and then (one being delivered the evening of the show). I'm a home based small business and it's just me (and my husband to lend a hand).

1) What do I bring to these things? Cupcakes? Cakes? Decorated dummies?

2) How many flavors should I bring? If I'm bringing cupcakes do I fill them? How would customers get a feel for combinations in cakes if I didn't fill? Should I ice them with Buttercream or bettercream?

3) I imagine it will be VERY warm, so how do I keep everything from melting? Lots of coolers?

4) I have no idea how many people will be going through so how on earth would I estimate how much I should bring?

5) Do I offer individual boxes for take-aways or use plates/napkins? 

And I know I'm going to be mad busy if I decide to do this (I work full time and this is just a side business at the moment), but one thing that makes me want to go for it...no competition. 

Any advice or past experience recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

3 replies
SandraDee73 Posted 15 Jul 2015 , 4:33pm
post #2 of 4

Ok. It's definite. I'm going to do this!

sykescakes Posted 15 Jul 2015 , 5:37pm
post #3 of 4