To Renovate Or Rent?

Business By pintsizecakes Updated 12 Sep 2015 , 10:10pm by peachcake

pintsizecakes Posted 14 Jul 2015 , 4:25pm
post #1 of 12

Hi Everyone! I'm extremely new to the cake baking world! I started out submitting desserts in our local BBQ competitions and bringing my cheesecakes to my friends and family events and get togethers. With a little support from all of them I have decided to go for it.

After extensive research I have realized I'm not able to break even financially if I rent a commercial kitchen. So, I'm wondering what would be the logical choice to make here, either rent a kitchen and hopefully find a place in my area where I can pay by the hour instead of by the month or hold out for a year save up the money and renovate a small (very small) bakery in my finished basement? That way I can get all of my certifications/permits to be a home bakery in the state of GA.

Any advice on how much this will cost me to renovate a small bakery? I only offer one item which is cheesecakes so I don't need a lot. Just a way to get certified so I can bake from home. I was thinking it'd be about $10K for the renovation, equipment included. Does that sound unreasonably cheap? 

I'd really love to do this but the idea of renting a kitchen and not breaking even after I sell my cheesecakes and pay the rent is absurd to me. But I also want to be legal and not have to worry about uncle sam knocking on my door. lol :) Any advice you can give me will much appreciated!!! :) Thanks everyone! Happy Baking! :) 

11 replies
peachcake Posted 14 Jul 2015 , 4:50pm
post #2 of 12