Combining Buttercreams

Decorating By Momofsns Updated 13 Jul 2015 , 4:15pm by costumeczar

Momofsns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momofsns Posted 12 Jul 2015 , 6:47am
post #1 of 7

Hi all,  

I'm new to baking.  I know this site has lots of knowledgeable bakers and I'm hoping for help!!

i would like to know if it is ok to use IMBC to fill a cake and then use crusting buttercream to ice it.

it probably sounds like a silly question, but I'm not sure if the combo of those two buttercreams tastes good.  I'd like to ice the cake with crusting buttercream because I want to make it as smooth as possible underneath the fondant.  TIA!!

6 replies
bubs1stbirthday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubs1stbirthday Posted 12 Jul 2015 , 8:28am
post #2 of 7

You could do it but when meringue buttercreams are so beautifully silky it would seem a pity to ruin it (IMO) with a crusting American Buttercream style icing.

Personally I fill my cakes with SMBC and ice with Ganache, both have such a lovely texture that they compliment one another perfectly.

Momofsns Posted 12 Jul 2015 , 3:40pm
post #3 of 7

Quote by @bubs1stbirthday on 7 hours ago

You could do it but when meringue buttercreams are so beautifully silky it would seem a pity to ruin it (IMO) with a crusting American Buttercream style icing.

Personally I fill my cakes with SMBC and ice with Ganache, both have such a lovely texture that they compliment one another perfectly.

thank you!!  Do you have a good and easy ganache recipe for beginners that i can use as icing under fondant?

bubs1stbirthday Posted 12 Jul 2015 , 10:57pm
post #4 of 7

Just any standard ganache recipe (not a pouring ganache). I use a ratio of

1 part cream to 3 parts white chocolate,

1 part cream to 2 1/2 parts milk chocolate or

I combine milk and dark chocolate together and use a ratio of 1 part cream to 2 parts milk/dark chocolate.