First Ever Two Tier Cake

Decorating By mzdandylion Updated 8 Jul 2015 , 5:40am by mccantsbakes

mzdandylion Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 10

Hey y'all.  I am truly a newbie here. I am baking a two tier cake for my daughters birthday Saturday. I was wondering,  what do I use to stabilize the 6 and 8 inch cakes? Also, is there supposed to be a divider or something between the two cakes?  

9 replies
mccantsbakes Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 6:07pm
post #2 of 10

Treat the two tiers like separate cakes.   You will need cake boards for each cake.  (The cake board of the upper tier is what separates it from the lower tier.   Then you need to provide a support for that cake board from the upper tier to rest on so it doesn't squish the bottom cake.   

You want to make sure you are level with each cake individually.  Any slants will be really obvious when stacked.       Personally for a two tiered cake I would use straws as my internal supports for the bottom tier.   I use milkshake straws or the thick ones I get from the convenient store (they have the best straws!) I pop one in the bottom cake and cut off where the cake meets the icing.   I then cut all my remaining straws to the length of my first one so that they are level with each other, not the cake per se.  

The best way to show you this would be for you to go to someplace like YouTube and type in stacking a cake, leveling a cake...etc.  there are TONS of tutorials that show you what to do.  

SquirrellyCakes Posted 7 Jul 2015 , 6:22pm
post #3 of 10

I would at least double the cake board that the bottom cake sits on because it supports both cakes. You can glue gun or tape two together.  I tend to use a cake drum as the base. If each cake is only one layer you don't need this extra support but if each is two layers or more with filling, I would rather err on the side of caution and go with doubled boards, a drum or heavier plate or base.