My Homemade Fondant Is Falling

Sugar Work By Tessavw Updated 4 Jul 2015 , 11:24am by Goreti

Tessavw Posted 4 Jul 2015 , 12:05am
post #1 of 7

I'm a beginner in baking and last week I decided to make my own marshmallow fondant. 

But I only had the flavored colored mini marshmallows (orange,strawberry,...) .. I stored my fondant in the fridge and after some days I took the fondant out, and I couldn't get the texture right, it was always breaking and falling apart. 

Does this have to do with the type of marshmallows? or are it storing issues? 

I read you can store it in the fridge, but I'm not sure. 

6 replies
Goreti Posted 4 Jul 2015 , 1:11am
post #2 of 7

I'm no expert myself but it sounds like it is too dry.  Try adding some shortening or glycerine to it.  

Tessavw Posted 4 Jul 2015 , 2:56am
post #3 of 7

I added a good amount of shortening. And after a while I just gave up :-)

I will see what happens next time when I make fondant and will keep adding some shortening. 

jgifford Posted 4 Jul 2015 , 3:00am
post #4 of 7

It's been my experience that fondant and refrigeration don't mix.  It will be fine stored outside the fridge.

Tessavw Posted 4 Jul 2015 , 3:45am
post #5 of 7

Jgifford, How long can I store my fondant when not in the fridge?

FrostedMoon Posted 4 Jul 2015 , 3:55am
post #6 of 7