Sides Of Cake Higher Than Middle

Baking By cupcakemama3 Updated 19 Jun 2015 , 11:19am by cupcakemama3

cupcakemama3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemama3 Posted 18 Jun 2015 , 12:41am
post #1 of 13

Hello all! Will appreciate any and all suggestions. I have been baking for almost 20 years and I've never had this problem so I can't imagine what's going on. For some reason the sides of my cakes are rising to a beautiful 2" but the middle is inverted and only about 1 1/2". I use bake even strips. I have tried several recipes including homemade, semi-homemade and box but they all do the same. I bake at 350 but have tried 325 and tried  preheating to 375 and turned down to 350 to bake. It does this on traditional bake and convection. All my ingredients are in date. It all started when I moved to this house a year ago. I have lived 3 other places in this same town without this problem, so I thought it was the oven, as it was over twenty years old and the dpor didn't close completely. So, I bought a brand new oven and I'm still having the same problem. I am totally out of ideas. At the end of it all the cakes look (after decorating) and taste great with a great texture but this is driving me crazy! It sure would make it easier on me if they were more level. I would even rather have a small dome than a dent. Please help!

12 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Jun 2015 , 1:03pm
post #2 of 13

are you possibly overfilling the pans with batter?

melmar02 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melmar02 Posted 18 Jun 2015 , 1:32pm
post #3 of 13

Have you tried using a heating core / flower nail?

dkltll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dkltll Posted 18 Jun 2015 , 4:23pm
post #4 of 13