Additional Trans Fat Ban In Us

Decorating By melmar02 Updated 18 Jun 2015 , 1:23pm by melmar02

melmar02 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melmar02 Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 11:07pm
post #1 of 12

I just saw on the news that the US is looking at extending the ban on trans fats to include all processed foods. I'm sure hi-ratio shortening will be on the chopping block soon. Guess it's time to start experimenting with recipes again!

11 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 12

There's always meringue buttercreams... I also have a recipe for confectioner's sugar buttercream that uses only butter and is pretty stable heat-wise. I think it's basically the same fat to sugar ratio but it has 2Tbsp meringue powder for each pound of sugar. I'd have to check to be sure about that.

melmar02 Posted 17 Jun 2015 , 4:44pm
post #3 of 12

I'll have to be careful with meringues. I'm a home baker in Texas, so I can't sell anything requiring refrigeration. A modified or hybrid recipe perhaps? 

pastrypet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastrypet Posted 17 Jun 2015 , 7:27pm
post #4 of 12

Meringue buttercreams do not require refrigeration. The egg whites are cooked during the process of making the icing.

stephsweetreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephsweetreats Posted 17 Jun 2015 , 7:39pm
post #5 of 12

I use butter for cupcakes, cakes, etc, but do use crisco/shortening in some things as my "secret ingredient" in some frostings and fillings.  What am I going to do?!  Having a mild panic attack over here.  Do you think the companies can change their products in the next 3 years in ways that would make it legal?   

littlejewel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlejewel Posted 17 Jun 2015 , 8:36pm
post #6 of 12