Help With A Cake

Baking By ComeSerenity Updated 7 Jun 2015 , 8:53pm by Magda_MI

ComeSerenity Posted 7 Jun 2015 , 1:03am
post #1 of 10

I am completely new to this site and the art of cake decorating. So as you can imagine I have a multitude of questions. And yes, I have done TONS of Googling but each time I find an answer to one question I come up with 10 more. So I just decided to make an account on here and see if any of you lovely people could help me out. 

Okay, so I am relatively new to using fondant and gel food colors. I have only ever made ONE cake using store bought fondant and the fondant just tasted so nasty. I don't want to repeat that again. My sons first birthday is coming up in the next couple months and I've decided that I want to make his cake myself, what I have in mind is pretty simple. 

So my questions are as follows;

1) Is there a particular type of cake that is best when you're using fondant? 

2) As I mentioned, I'm not a fan of store bought fondant, I've been looking into some homemade recipes, are there and REALLY good ones any of you might recommend?

3) Can anyone direct me towards a chart about mixing colors into the fondant?

4) Ive seen in most of the fondant recipes that shortening is used, could that be substituted with butter or coconut oil?

5) Any tips for a newbie?

Thank you in advance,

9 replies
suzied Posted 7 Jun 2015 , 3:34am
post #2 of 10

From my recollection only a minimal amount of veg. shortening is used, mostly to stop it sticking on to utensils, fingers etc.

I use satin ice. i like it.  i also make marshmallow fondant. tastes good.  You can use it it on pound cakes, chocolate, mud, fruit not sure of sponge - because i have never made a sponge cake.

try googling for a chart re; colours i got mine from google. its trial and error.  you will learn along the way - thats how i did. i would be no where if not for the help from other CCers. 

MelaMang75 Posted 7 Jun 2015 , 5:10am
post #3 of 10