Cake Mix Vs Scratch Baking

Baking By eaamckenzie14 Updated 6 Jun 2015 , 9:05pm by CatPoet

eaamckenzie14 Posted 5 Jun 2015 , 11:38pm
post #1 of 25

Hi everyone, I want to talk to you guys about scratch baking vs. using a pre-mixed formula. I have been decorating cakes now for about ten years and I wanted to look into starting my own business. When I did some research I was surprised to learn that a lot of bakeries order cake mix in bulk to make their cakes while some use store bought box cake mixes. And some don't even bake their own cakes at all. Anyways I personally felt that I wanted to bake from scratch but I quickly found out that its not as easy as it sounds. Im no novice to baking but scratch cakes can be inconsistent at times unlike using a mix or a box where you know your product will come out the same each time. Please let me know what you think about this. Is it wrong or misleading to make your cakes from a mix at a bakery?

24 replies
snixsnaxshax Posted 6 Jun 2015 , 12:15am
post #2 of 25

Hello, I have a small home based bakery business. I do make all of my cakes and cupcakes from scratch, however you are right about find a recipe that is consistent.   I have often thought of just using cake mixes. I am curious to see what other's say. Good luck!

Pastrybaglady Posted 6 Jun 2015 , 12:41am
post #3 of 25

You yourself said lots of bakeries use mixes.  It's not wrong or dishonest unless you say you're baking scratch and you're not.  As a consumer I admit was surprised and a little let down when I found out bakeries use mixes, but when you're doing high volume you need more efficiency.

Jinkies Posted 6 Jun 2015 , 1:00am
post #4 of 25

I only do scratch and advertise my business as such.  I personally believe that if I'm going to charge top dollar for my cakes, they should be from scratch.  Perspective clients do seem to appreciate that when I remind them that my cakes have no chemicals/preservatives.  Makes the price tag a little easier to swallow :)