Should I Work For Someone Else Or For Myself?

Business By Devondelise Updated 7 Jun 2015 , 12:13am by costumeczar

Devondelise Posted 5 Jun 2015 , 3:09am
post #1 of 10

So here is my story. I graduated from Le Cordon Bleu in 2011 with a baking and pastry certificate. Due to bills and rent I was unable to take a job at a bakery because of the pay. I have done a couple of wedding cakes here and there(4), cupcakes, cookies, ect. I am working in customer service but I really want to get more serious about my baking/cake decorating. So my question: is it better to work for myself or work at a bakery?  Everyone is telling me I should open a bakery. Is there something wrong it I just want to work for someone else? 

9 replies
johnson6ofus Posted 5 Jun 2015 , 3:36am
post #2 of 10

I just depends on what you really want. I bakery owner is also the accountant, clerk, dish washer, tax adviser, baker and decorator. If you want to learn and do all those jobs, then maybe "owner" is for you. If you want to decorate cakes, maybe working for someone else would allow more time for that work. 

Pastrybaglady Posted 5 Jun 2015 , 7:55am
post #3 of 10

Don't listen to "everyone", they always say stuff like that!  No cost for them to tell you to do something extremely expensive and risky.  Working for someone else = reliable money.  Working for yourself = roller coaster.  I should also include Full time job + baking on the side = secure but exhausted!

-K8memphis Posted 5 Jun 2015 , 1:42pm
post #4 of 10

i've done both -- and as already posted by these fine people -- it's a blast to just full on decorate and not have any headaches -- and it's also quite a rush to do it all yourself any way you want --