Do You Sell Both Cakes And Cookies?

Business By 2kats Updated 4 Jun 2015 , 2:23pm by Cinnabear14

2kats Posted 3 Jun 2015 , 3:06am
post #1 of 11

I am a licensed home baker, no other employees, just me. Am I crazy to offer both cakes and cookies?  Would it be odd to have a cake business and not do cookies?  

Honestly, I don't enjoy making cookies at all. I would much rather make cakes. I have been in business 3 years and have about 8-10 cake orders per week. When people order cookies it seems to throw off my whole schedule. They take so long to make.  

I feel like I have enough cake orders that I don't need to offer cookies, too, but I get a lot of orders for cookies and I feel like after 3 years it would be hard to just stop offering them.  

Advice?  What do you other home bakers offer?

10 replies
SweetShop5 Posted 3 Jun 2015 , 3:37am
post #2 of 11

If you don't enjoy making them and it ruins your schedule, then I wouldn't offer them. 8-10 cakes per week for one person is a lot, so thats really good! Also, like you mentioned, if you feel comfortable with all the cake orders you get, you should let it be the way it is :)

As for me, we're only 2 people and its going to remain that way. We offer cakes, cookies, cake pops, cupcakes and chocolate covered oreos. 

Pastrybaglady Posted 3 Jun 2015 , 5:56am
post #3 of 11

I offer cookies as well - see my avatar - but they are sooo time consuming I feel like it's hard to get paid what they're worth.  If you have that many cake orders by all means let the cookies go.  Let a baker who loves making cookies have the business!

Singerssoul Posted 4 Jun 2015 , 12:40am
post #4 of 11

If you feel you must offer cookies to your customers, you might consider offering non-decorated versions only.  It would take pressure off fancy decorated cookies along with your cakes.

Frank68 Posted 4 Jun 2015 , 12:46am
post #5 of 11