Advice On Sculpture Cakes

Decorating By Xochiquetzal Updated 27 May 2015 , 5:35am by carolinecakes

Xochiquetzal Posted 26 May 2015 , 7:00am
post #1 of 13

Hi my friend is having a small gathering and asked me if i could make a pit bull sculpture cake, i was wondering if anyone has and helpful links tips etc on doing this. am pretty good at sculpting however never applied it to a cake. how would i hold up the head.what would be the best material to work with ? sculpting chocolate or fondant? 

12 replies
carolinecakes Posted 26 May 2015 , 2:14pm
post #2 of 13

I'm a hobby baker and by no means an expert. My first 3D cake was a Cheetah Cake I made for my grandaughter. I used a small ball pan for the head and used fat bubble straws to attach to the body. The cake was all buttercream and held up very well for a 30 min drive to the venue. Others use rice crispy treats for heads, weight issue. Most use ganache and fondant, better stability, but since my cake was for the kids and I was new to fondant at the time i stuck with BC. Lovely Tutorials have excellent instructions and pintrest. Here's a link to a talented CCer, HTH

http://www.cakecentral.com/gallery/i/2306056/3d-dog-cake

carolinecakes Posted 26 May 2015 , 3:13pm
post #3 of 13

Here's a look inside the Cheetah Cake, sitting on all fours.

http://www.cakecentral.com/gallery/i/3341361/cheetah-cake

carolinecakes Posted 26 May 2015 , 3:30pm
post #4 of 13