Price For A Pregnant Belly Cake

Business By kparks2 Updated 25 May 2015 , 4:32pm by kparks2

kparks2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kparks2 Posted 24 May 2015 , 9:34pm
post #1 of 4

Before I get yelled at, I looked on here and google and really did not get a good answer.  I do not charge per slice like most decorators rather by cake.  I am in communication with a lady that wants a pregnant belly cake not covered in fondant rather butter cream.  I am still a novice in my side business as a baker/decorator and I know I put more work into my cakes then I charge and I am working on charging what I am worth.  I originally charged $150 (pricing the size of the bowls I would use the same price I would charge a cake pan of the same size and the decorations we discussed) and she does not want to spend that.  I called the local Publix and they would charge $79.99 for a fondant one so maybe my price was high so I told her I would $100 cutting out some of the decorations previously discussed.  I guess my question is what would be a fair price for a pregnant belly cake covered in butter cream. I do not want to charge as cheap as the grocers and I explained to the lady my pricing is based on that my cakes are made from scratch and the labor that goes into it so decoration will factor into that.  I know I need to charge more for many of the cakes I do because I go above and beyond. 

At the end of the day she is used to her daughter making cakes but does not want her to do it for her own baby shower, getting super center cakes or a family friend that does it for free so I do feel my price will be too high regardless bu I want to know for the future.  I would appreciate any suggestions.

3 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 25 May 2015 , 3:14pm
post #2 of 4

First of all without knowing the size of the cake, the costs of the ingredients,  overheads etc nobody will be able to give you a price.