Help! I'm Being Pushed Out By Cheaper Bakers. I Don't Overcharge But They Think I Do.

Business By DeniseAtTCR Updated 25 May 2015 , 2:45am by DeniseAtTCR

DeniseAtTCR Posted 23 May 2015 , 4:27pm
post #1 of 21

Help! I'm a home baker in a rural area. I have heard from a friend that people said I charge too much. I was following social media and am hearing how the other local bakers are booked solid right now! I recently have been getting a couple of their over flow customers seeking someone to make a cake. The customers have told me, "I usually get my cake from ________, but they are booked!" Some of my previous customers who have indicated how happy they were with my cakes, have switched to one of the lower cost bakers and recommend them to others because of low cost and taste good. I haven't received a complaint about my goodies other than cost. Here's the problem: I only charge $1.75/serving. I can't really go any lower!

I love baking and cake decorating! It brings me peace of mind, satisfaction and joy. I lost my only child 1 1/2 yrs. ago and cake decorating has been my peace. I really don't want to give it up. So, I'm wondering what to do to be able to compete when people just go elsewhere for cheaper cakes?

20 replies
DeniseAtTCR Posted 23 May 2015 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 21

Customers praise me on my work for taste and design. Some say it's better than their mother's homemade goodies. I have tried advertising in the paper, online, given to charity fundraisers and promoted my business in parades. I even took a job at the nearest professional bakery (75 miles each way) just so I could decorate cakes, but I couldn't keep up the drive. 

Any suggestions on how to compete with the lower than $1.75/serving?

Samples of my work

this cake was an 8" and a 10" touted, filled, tiered cake. I charged $85 for it.

https://www.facebook.com/Thecookieranch/photos/a.522576694508170.1073741830.473225626109944/778454072253763/?type=1

-K8memphis Posted 23 May 2015 , 4:53pm