Cream Cheese Filling Need Refrigerated??

Baking By emmyatoohlala Updated 22 May 2015 , 6:34pm by -K8memphis

emmyatoohlala Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmyatoohlala Posted 22 May 2015 , 12:42am
post #1 of 8

I'm decorating a 2 tier wedding cake and 100 cupcakes for a wedding this Saturday. I'm finishing up decorating them this evening, and bride will be picking up everything early tomorrow morning. I filled the cupcakes and cake with a cream cheese filling and iced them in Italian meringue buttercream. . . does it need refrigerated tonight? It will be a little tricky fitting everything in the fridge so was wondering if it would be possible to leave some of it out. Thank you so much in advance!! 

Hopefully this makes since, it's my first time writing on this forum. =z 

7 replies
Goreti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Goreti Posted 22 May 2015 , 1:19am
post #2 of 8

Yes, it should be refrigerated.  Anything with cream cheese should not be out of the refrigerator for more than 2 hrs per the US Food & Drug Administration.

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 22 May 2015 , 2:33am
post #3 of 8

Welcome to the forum!

Ditto to Goreti's post above.  The cake should not be out of the refrigerator once delivered to the customer or venue for more than 2 hours either.   You should make sure the bride/venue/responsible person refrigerates the cake once it leaves your hands.

emmyatoohlala Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmyatoohlala Posted 22 May 2015 , 2:24pm
post #4 of 8

Thank you!! Got everything in the fridge last night and now waiting for the bride. Already talked to her a week ago about the cakes needing refrigerated until right before the reception so that's done.  =)

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 22 May 2015 , 5:30pm
post #5 of 8

You're welcome!

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 22 May 2015 , 6:24pm
post #6 of 8