How Many Samples Do I Need For A Festival / Craft Show Event?

Business By mamalovescakes Updated 20 May 2015 , 8:22pm by cakedout

mamalovescakes Posted 20 May 2015 , 3:29pm
post #1 of 5

Hello everyone! This is my first post here but I know it won't be my last :) so thank you in advance for any and all advise! I have several different events that I am planning on being a vendor at this year and next year. I am just starting out and have never set up a booth before. Events will include festivals, street fairs, block parties, bridal/wedding expos, craft shows, etc.

Where I live, there isn't much competition at events (most just advertise or have a store but don't go to the events). So far, I am the only cake/cupcake vendor at 90% of these events (one or two of the big events have a competitor that sell strictly cupcakes).

The attendance for most one day events range from 1,500 - 10,000. There is a three day event next March that has over 500 booths and the attendence is between 30,000 - 35,000 plus there is another event in December that is a five day event that has over 700 booths and an attendance of 45,000 - 50,000!!!! My main question is how many samples (mini cupcakes) do I need per attendee?

I have tried researching this and I've seen some people say 1 sample for every 5 attendees. So that would mean 300 - 2,000 samples per day. Would a 20% ratio be enough?!? I would think if the samples are free, that I would need closer to an 80% ratio.

Another question I have is, if I have to make thousands and thousands of mini cupcakes, how long will they last in the freezer? Can I start making them 2-3 weeks before the event so that I have enough time? Do I freeze them unfrosted or can I freeze them with buttercream frosting on them?

4 replies
MimiFix Posted 20 May 2015 , 3:54pm
post #2 of 5