Do I Need To Torte?

Baking By juliewiens Updated 19 May 2015 , 4:28pm by SquirrellyCakes

juliewiens Posted 16 May 2015 , 5:02am
post #1 of 10

I am a simple home baker. However, I have been asked to do a wedding cake for my friend. I was going to do a simple 2 tier. This weekend I am doing a trial run of the cake. To give each tier height I baked 3 - 8" rounds and 3 - 6" rounds. It never even occurred to me that I should cut each layer in half. Would it be better to do 2 rounds torted vs 3 rounds?

Hope that isn't confusing.

9 replies
johnson6ofus Posted 16 May 2015 , 6:12am
post #2 of 10

Torting give a more elegant "dainty" presentation. Normally, it is 4 layers of cake with icing between each layer. Normally, depending on recipes, I use each baked layer, split in half. So you bake 2 quantity, 8" rounds, split each in half (torte) and end up with 4 layers. Each about 3/4", adding 1/4" icing and get a nice 4" high cake. 

leah_s Posted 16 May 2015 , 11:52am
post #3 of 10

^ that's what I do.  More professional looking and less grocery store looking.

kakeladi Posted 16 May 2015 , 3:51pm
post #4 of 10

I understand the 'more pro' looking but if you have to transport this cake any distance you might be better using your 3 layers instead of 2 torted.  I mean since this is your 1st and all you might have less chance of a transporting accident. 

kakeladi Posted 16 May 2015 , 3:53pm
post #5 of 10

Oh tall are these layers?  You usually want a tier to be 4" tall so if your layers are 2" tall each than using 3 will look different - especially with the 8" and smaller rounds or sqs.

MinaBakes Posted 19 May 2015 , 2:26pm
post #6 of 10

"Usually" yes, but now a days you see tiers as tall as 6 to 8 inches tall, so it might not be too bad. Anyway, how many guests are you feeding?

johnson6ofus Posted 19 May 2015 , 2:37pm
post #7 of 10

Quote by @leah_s on 3 days ago

^ that's what I do.  More professional looking and less grocery store looking.