3-D Cake Help!!

Decorating By gibson Updated 3 Oct 2005 , 12:43pm by TinaRe

gibson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gibson Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 5:07pm
post #1 of 22

HI

I am going to do a practise cake for my son's 1st birthday and would like to do a 3-D dinosaur cake using the 3-D standup bear pan and use the small stand-up bear pan for his smash cake. This is my first time making this kind of cake and am very nervous! I haven't been able to find any pound cake in a box and was wondering if anyone has tried the recipe on this site for "durable cake for 3D and wedding cakes" and if you have does it have to be a Duncan Hines cake mix (I only have Betty Crocker) and does it have to be full fat sour cream? I would hate to waste all those ingredients....
All the advice I can get would be truly appreciated!! I really could use it!!
THANKS! icon_biggrin.gif

21 replies
smileyface Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smileyface Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 5:42pm
post #2 of 22

I haven't tried that recipe but I have made 3d cakes. I use box mix with the pudding in it. I have used both DH and BC. I don't see any difference between them. I know some people have had theirs crumble with box mixes and even the durable recipe. I haven't had any problem with them falling apart, knock on wood!! I think if you be sure to follow the directions and let it cool like the directions say, you will be fine. I have read some put dowel rods in for support but I haven't had to try that yet.

Good Luck.

gibson Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 22

just anxious to try this so I'm bumping it!
Can only make it when my baby is taking his nap otherwise I am tripping over him or everything he pulls out of my cupboards lol!

TinaRe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TinaRe Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 5:48pm
post #4 of 22